A New Direction

Since it’s conception merely days ago, I’ve been slaving over finding a direction to go with this blog. After all, I am new to this whole thing and have absolutely zero idea what on God’s green Earth I’m doing. First, I though about doing strictly poetry. Next, I contemplated posting only my short stories. Lastly, I though maybe I should just post whatever the heck came to mind. Considering those options only outlined the extremes of the spectrum (restrictive and stifling to recklessly unsupervised) I figured I should seek some guidance and structure.

Enter my dear friend and a gift bag.

For my birthday this year a really good friend of mine, and an equally amazing writer, gave me a writer’s devotional as encouragement. We had just recently gone to a writer’s conference together and been drilled with the HEAVY importance of daily writing to improve one’s craft; we were in this thing together and daily writing was going to become a part of both of our lives. (Oh and not to toot our own horns or anything, but she received the award for Most Promising Teen Writer and I received the Runner Up award. We were both kind of incredibly stoked.) I did two weeks of the devotional religiously, no pun intended, but I’ve fallen out of the routine as of late, so here’s my proposition. I will go through this devotional on a daily basis, as was intended. There are certain days with writing prompts and other days structured for reflection, editing, planning, and all that other important stuff; those days I won’t post. But the days with writing prompts, generally twice a week, I will write. I’m hoping that by making this commitment public, I will be more inclined to stick with it. Also, I would love for you to follow along this journey with me!

As I said before, I absolutely loved the first two weeks I did with this book. If you would like to take a look at it here is a link to the book on Amazon.com The Writer’s Devotional by Amy Peters . Peters’ writing style is so insightful and personal, two characteristics I find essential in motivation. I hope you will follow along and maybe even join in with me on my journey to becoming a better writer. Comments and critiques are always welcome!

Leave a Reply

